CIRTL@TAMU Events

For a comprehensive list of both National CIRTL Network events and CIRTL@TAMU event please visit our calendar here.

National CIRTL Events: https://www.cirtl.net/events


 

Past CIRTL@TAMU Events Section

 

Diversity in the College Classroom ( taught by TAMU faculty)
Fridays 9/27-11/15: 11:30AM-1PM ET / 10:30AM-12PM CT / 9:30-11AM MT / 8:30-10AM PT
Understand the theory behind how diversity affects learning and develop practical classroom strategies in this course designed for STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs. Cap: 30. Register by 9/16.
Participants in this online workshop will earn 1 G.R.A.D. Aggies PDU.

 

Using Qualitative Methods to Enrich Teaching and Learning (taught by TAMU faculty)
Monday 9/23 & 9/30: 3-4:30PM ET / 2-3:30PM CT / 1-2:30PM MT / 12-1:30PM PT
Get an introduction to qualitative research methods for classroom-based research in this two-part workshop. Cap: 25. Register by 9/20.
Participants in this online workshop will earn 1 G.R.A.D. Aggies PDU.

CIRTL Massive Open Online Course:
An Introduction to Evidence-Based

Undergraduate STEM Teaching
June 26th – Aug 14th 2019

 

Course Information:


The Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning is offering a Mass Open Online Course (MOOC) titled: An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching, facilitated by Boston University.
 
CIRTL@TAMU will facilitate a local learning community on campus in conjunction with the online course. Each week participants will review the online materials and videos before coming together for face-to-face discussion on that week's topic. 

Schedule:

Weekly meetings are tentatively scheduled for:
  1. Weds   Jun 26th     9AM-10AM
  2. Weds   Jul 10th      9AM-10AM
  3. Weds   Jul 17th      9AM-10AM
  4. Weds   Jul 24th      9AM-10AM
  5. Weds   Jul 31st       9AM-10AM
  6. Weds   Aug 7th      9AM-10AM
  7. Weds   Aug 14th    9AM-10AM

Location:

To be determined on the TAMU – College Station campus

Students must register at tx.ag/CIRTLTAMUMOOC and the edX course page.  
Participants in the course, who attend and actively participate in the weekly local learning community meetings, will receive a CIRTL Associate Certificate. 
 
 
About this course:
This course is designed to provide future STEM faculty, graduate students and post-doctoral fellows with an introduction to effective teaching strategies and the research that supports them.
 
The goal of the eight-week course is to equip the next generation of STEM faculty to be effective teachers, thus improving the learning experience for the thousands of students they will teach.
 
The course draws on the expertise of experienced STEM faculty, educational researchers, and staff from university teaching centers, many of them affiliated with the Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning (CIRTL), a network of research universities collaborating in the preparation of STEM graduate students and post-docs as future faculty members.
 
What you'll learn:
  • Key learning principles such as the role of mental models in learning and the importance of practice and feedback
  • Fundamental elements of course design, including the development of learning objectives and assessments of learning aligned with those objectives
  • Teaching strategies for fostering active learning and inclusive classroom environments